National Concerto Past Winners

Past Winners

1968  Christine Cuming; Auckland (piano) Beethoven “Emperor”
1969  Michael Redshaw; Auckland (piano) Beethoven No 3
1970  1st = Ivan Andrews; Auckland (cello) Lalo Cello on GPeter Wilton; Wellington (oboe) Gordon Jacob
1971  Michael Houstoun; Timaru (piano) Liszt No 2
1972  Anthony Ferner; Christchurch (flute) Bach
1973  1st = Stephen Collins; Wellington (piano) Rachmaninoff No 2Richard Mapp; Christchurch (piano) Schumann
1974  Keith Spragg; Christchurch (clarinet) Hindemouth
1975  Christopher Norton; Wellington (piano) Prokofiev No 1
1976  Roger Brown; Christchurch (cello) Elgar
1977  Patrick O’ Byrne; Auckland (piano) Tchaikovsky No 1
1978  Rachel Skinner; Christchurch (flute) Gordon Jacob
1979  David Butler; Christchurch (piano) Khachaturian in D flat
1980  Peter Barber; Wellington (viola) Gordon Jacob
1981  Sharon Joy Vogan; Southland (piano) Chopin No 2
1982  Mary Scott; Wellington (clarinet) Wber Clarinet No 2
1983  Read Gainsford; Auckland (piano) Prokofiev No 3
1984  Rachel Thompson; Christchurch (viola) Bartok
1985  Richard Chandler; Christchurch (piano) Tchaikovsky No 1
1986  Mark Menzies; Hastings (violin) Mozart Violin No 5
1987  Jill Pears; Christchurch (piano) John Ireland in E flat
1988  Hamish McKeich; Christchurch (bassoon) Mozart
1989  Nicola Melville; Wellington (piano) Prokofiev No 3
1990  James Bush; Christchurch (cello 1) Saint-Saens Cello No.1
1991  Marcus McLaren; Auckland Scriabin Opus 20
1992  1st = Elizabeth Hirst; Auckland (flute) IlbertRobert Orr; Christchurch/Wellington (oboe) Richard Strauss
1993  Rachel Thomson; Wellington (piano) Prokofiev No 3
1994  Ashley Brown; Christchurch(cello) Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations
1995  Henry Wong Doe; Auckland (piano) Saint- Saens No 2
1996  Julie Platt; Christchurch (cello) Shostakovich Cello 1
1997  Pei-Yu (Betty) Lee; Auckland (piano) Schumann
1998  Yoonjung Kim; Christchurch (cello) Saint-Saens Cello 1
1999  Alastair Watson; Dunedin (piano) Gershwin in F
2000 Natalia Lomienko; Christchurch (violin) Brahms
2001  Beth Chen; Wellington (piano) Franck Symphonic Variations
2002  Kerry Martin;Rangiora/ Sydney (violin) Khatchaturian Violin Co in Dmin
2003  Joanne (Jae-Wyn) Yi; Christchurch (piano) Prokofiev Piano Concerto No 3
2004  Benjamin Morrison; Christchurch (violin) Sibelius Concerto in D minor
2005  Fei Ren; Auckland (Piano) Ravel Concerto in G
2006  Amalia Hall; Auckland
2007  Chen (Tony) Lin; Christchurch (piano)
2008  Yoshiko Tsuruta; Wellington (marimba) Rosauro Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra
2009  John-Paul Muir; Auckland (piano)
2010  Edward King;  Auckland (cello)
2011  Final was cancelled because of the 22nd February 2011 Christchurch earthquake.
The three finalists were: Jason Bae, Grace Francis and Tina Kimall of Auckland.
2012  Santiago Canon Valencia; Hamilton (cello)
2013 Andrew Leathwick; Hamilton (piano) Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3
2014 1st equal – Matthais Balzat; Auckland (cello) Cello Concerto William Walton and Arna Morton; Christchurch (violin) Violin Concerto No. 1 Karol Szymanowski
2015 Bradley Wood; Christchurch (piano) Concerto No. 1 in F # minor Rachmaninoff
2016 Sam Lucas; Hamilton (cello) Schelomo: Rhapsodie Hebraique
2017 Matthais Balzat; Auckland (Cello) Cello Concerto No. 1 in Eb major, Op. 107 – Dmitri Shostakovich
2018 Modi Deng;  Auckland (piano) Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Opus 30 – Sergei Rachmaninoff
2019 Diane Huh; Auckland (violin) Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47 – Jean Sibelius
2020 Final was cancelled due to Covid-19 Global Pandemic. The three Finalists were: Lixin Zhang (Christchurch); Leon Chen (Auckland) and Ashani Waidyatillake (Auckland)
2021 Catherine Kwak; Auckland (cello) Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 10 – Antonin Dvorak