2012-13 National Concerto Competition®


2012/2013 Concerto Finalists:
Left to Right – Stephen Watson (Christchurch), Andrew Leathwick (Hamilton) and Kent Isomura (Auckland)


Please click here for the Andrew Leathwick’s biography and photograph

This was held on Saturday 9th March at the Aurora Centre Burnside High School to a near capacity audience.  It was a truly dazzling display of talent performed by the three finalists.

The winner was:   Andrew   Leathwick (Hamilton) – $7,000.00
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3

The runner up was:  Stephen Watson (Christchurch) – $3,000.00
Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2

Third place went to: Kent Isomura (Auckland) – $1,500.00
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 2

The People’s Prize (Audience vote) went to: Andrew Leathwick – $150.00

The Youth Jury Prize went to: Andrew Leathwick – $100.00

 Prizes of $700.00 each were presented to the other three semi-finalists:
Lawrence Wong (Auckland), Rafaella Garlick-Grice (Wellington) and Na Young Koo (Auckland)


A Competition for Musicians aged under 25


Total prize pool $13,850

First Prize: $7,000

Second Prize: $3,000

Third Prize: $1,500

Unplaced semi-finalists each receive $700

People’s Choice Award $150

Youth Jury prize $100


10-14 December 2012

Middleton Grange School

 Performing Arts Venue


9 March 2013

Finalists play with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra

Aurora Centre, Christchurch

Conductor: Hamish Mckeich

2012 – 2013 National Concerto
® Adjudicators


Preliminaries and Final:

Bryan Sayer

Distinguished recitalist and teacher.
Retired Senior Lecturer  in Piano, University of Auckland.

Katherine Austin

Recitalist. Lecturer in Piano, University of Waikato.

 Glenn Riddle

 Soloist and Chamber musician.
Lecturer in Music, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music,
Melbourne University of Music.

Entries close 15th October 2012

Click here for downloadable .pdf of Entry Form and Rules


For further information please contact:

National Concerto Competition Trust

 P O Box 7633, Sydenham, Christchurch 8240

email: concertocompetition@gmail.com

Administered by the Christchurch Civic Music Council Inc in association with Christchurch Symphony Orchestra



The 45th National Concerto Competition

54 highly talented and skilled  young musicians from all over New Zealand gathered in Christchurch for the preliminaries and semi-finals of the 45th National Concerto Competition* which was for orchestral instrumentalists.

The Final was held on Saturday 10th March 2012 at the Aurora Centre, Burnside High School, Christchurch. The Finalists were accompanied by the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir William Southgate.

Congratulations to

45th National Concerto Winner – 2012

Santiago Canon Valencia, cello – Prize $7,000
Concerto – Shostakovich

45th National Concerto Second Place – Prize $3,000

Hilary Hayes, violin
No 2 in D Minor Op 22, Violin & Orchestra – Wieniawski

45th National Concerto Third Place – Prize $1,500

Blythe Press, violin

Poeme for Violin and Orchestra. by Ernest Chausson

Blythe Press, Hilary Hayes, Santiago Canon Valencia
Blythe Press, Hilary Hayes, Santiago Canon Valencia

Special Prizes

People’s Choice Award – Prize $150
Hilary Hayes, violin

Junior Adjudicator Panel Award – Prize $100
Hilary Hayes, violin

Semi Finalists not chosen for the Finals

(Unplaced semi-finalists each received $700)

Andrew Bell, marimba
Concerto for Marimba & Orchestra – Anders Koppel

Hugh Roberts, flute
Flute Concerto – Jolivet

Catherine Kwak, cello
Sinfonia Concertante for Cello – Prokofiev

Most Promising Performer not chosen for the Semi-Finals

Prize $250

Bryony Gibson-Cornish, viola
Concerto for Viola & Orchestra, Op. Posth.- Bela Bartok

Special Awards for Canterbury Performers

Each recipient received $100

John Kwak, violin
Violin Concerto No 1 in F Sharp Minor. Op14. – Wieniawski

Joo Eun Kim, cello
Konzert No 1 for Cello – Saint Saens

2012 Adjudicators


Edward Allen (Principal Horn NZSO)

Andrew Thomson (Principal 2nd Violin NZSO)

Howard Parkhouse (Trinity Guildhall, London)

Adjudicators for 2012 Preliminaries
Adjudicators for 2012 Preliminaries

Edward Allen

Andrew Thomson

Francesca Matthews (Trinity Guildhall, London.)

* National Concerto Competition is a Trade Mark of the Christchurch Civic Music Council.