Ruby Hay Pianoforte Scholarship

2017 Ruby Hay Scholarship 

This is being held on Friday 20th October 2017 at 6.00 p.m.  at The Piano, 156 Armagh Street, Christchurch.  Closing date is Friday 6th October 2017.  The examiner is John Snook (please see below for his biography) .  Entry fee is $15.00.    

Please  see links below  for entry conditions and entry form for the 2017 Scholarship competition.

The Scholarship is an annual award of $1,000 provided from the bequest of the late Miss Ruby Hay, and is made to the entrant who is considered to be the most worthy as a result of a 30-minute competitive solo pianoforte recital.  The Lois Mackintosh Prize of $200 is awarded to the runner-up.

Competitors must be students of members of a Canterbury Branch of the Institute of Registered Music Teachers of New Zealand, or students of a tutor at the University of Canterbury. They must have lived in Canterbury for a period of not less than two years prior to the date fixed for the competitive recital, and must have attained the age of 15 years, but not have attained the age of 22 years at that time.

Help us promote the 2017 Ruby Hay Scholarship. Download and print  poster (see link below) and place it in your studio, school, or performing arts venue, etc… for interested students.

If you require further information about the Competition please email:  All applications are to be either scanned and emailed to or posted to: The Secretary, Christchurch Civic Music Council, PO Box 7633, Sydenham, Christchurch 8240.  The $15.00 entry fee must accompany your application.

Download  RUBY HAY – entry form

Download Ruby Hay Competition – Conditions of entry

Download  Poster

Download Adjudicator Biography 150428 SnookJ (3)




2016 Winners Announced!

We were treated to 2 outstanding performances last evening at The Piano.  The examiner, Mr Keith Rusling, from the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music was very impressed with both participants saying there was an “excellent” performance and an “outstanding” performance!

The winner of the 2016 Ruby Hay Scholarship is Lixin Zhang

The runner-up of the 2016 Ruby Hay Scholarship is Jungyeon Lee


From left to right: Lixin Zhang (Winner); Mr Keith Rusling (Examiner); Jungyeon Lee (Runner up)


2008Philip Sung

2009Gordon Lu

2010Anna Makysmova

2011- No competition

2012Stephen Watson

2013Chan Woo Park

2014Amy Ga Hee Lee and Siyn Sun (Joint Winners)

2015No competition

2016Lixin Zhang