Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Christopher’s Classics Series 2018

August 23, 2018 @ 7:30 pm

Christopher’s Classics presents New Zealand String Quartet with Serenity Thurlow (Viola) on Thursday 23rd August 2018, 7.30 p.m. at The Piano, 156 Armagh Street, Christchurch.

Helene Pohl (violin), Monique Lapins (violin), Gillian Ansell (viola), Rolf Gjelsten (cello)

Beethoven – String Quartet in f minor, Op. 95, Bartok – String Quartet No 2, Op. 17 Webern – 6 Bagatelles, Mozart – C Major Quintet

The 30-year-old NZSQ is one of the ensembles that the Christopher’s Classics Concert Series was founded to serve 23 years ago. Admired internationally with recordings featured in the top ten classical charts, they can be relied on to be insightful, energetic and colourful.

 Serenity Thurlow is principal viola in the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra and an accomplished Chamber musician and soloist.  She studied at the University of Canterbury under the late Jan Tawroszewicz, then at the Salzburg Mozarteum, where she was in demand as a chamber orchestral musician, playing with The Salzburg Chamber Soloists, Camerata Salzburg, and Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss.

She plays a French viola by Honore Derazey Circa 1865 with bows by Gary Leahy, Ireland and Francois Malo, Canada.

Subscriptions are available at a reduced rate, as well as reduced rates for community service card holders.

Door sales: Cash & Eftpos Online tickets: Eventfinda – additional fees apply.

Media contact Diana Moir, 021 126 573  dhmoir@xtra.co.nz, Christopher’s Classics www.christophersclassics.nz




August 23, 2018
7:30 pm


Christopher’s Classics


The Piano
156 Armagh Street
Christchurch, 8140 New Zealand
+ Google Map