Loading Events

« All Events

Sunday Classics Inc. Christopher’s Classics Series XXVI programme “Argyle Trio”

September 28 @ 7:30 pm

Sunday Classics Inc.  Christopher’s Classics Series XXVI programme presents “Argyle Trio on Tuesday 28th September 2021, 7.30 p.m. at The Piano, 156 Armagh Street, Christchurch


Wilma Smith (violin)
Matthias Balzat (cello)
Laurence Matheson (piano)

Debussy Sonata for cello and piano
Saint-Saens  – Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 92
Ravel  Trio

Since retiring from the MSO, Wilma Smith has prioritised her chamber music roots, enjoying old and new relationships in the US and New Zealand as well as Australia.

Matthias Balzat is a New Zealand born cellist and is currently 20 years old.  He began playing the cello at the age of 3, and has completed his NZ studies under James Tennant.  He is currently doing his masters degree in Dusseldorf.

From Melbourne, Laurence Matheson is a 24 year old pianist who began his full time studies in 2013.  He was selected as a Fellow of the Australian  National Academy of Music in 2016.

For further information, please phone or email:  Doris Barnard, Cell phone: 0204 240 551; Email: treasurer.christophers.classics@gmail.com

Series XXVI Concert Prices

Door Sales
Cash Sales EFTPOS, Credit Card
Adult Student (ID) Adult Student (ID)
Subscription Concerts $45 $20 $50 $22
Lixin Zhang $30 $15 $33 $17


Door sales are subject to availability.

On-line Sales

At www.eventfinda.co.nz (charges apply). Search for Christopher’s Classics on the website.

Season Subscriptions
7 Subscription Concerts $250
6 Subscription Concerts $220
5 Subscription Concerts $190
4 Subscription Concerts $160
3 Subscription Concerts $130
Lixin Zhang $30


Season subscriptions are available until 31 January 2021 from our website www.christopherclassics.nz.


September 28
7:30 pm


Doris Barnard
0204 240 551


The Piano
156 Armagh Street
Christchurch, 8140 New Zealand
+ Google Map